Boys & Girls Club of Hawthorne Hosts 24th Annual Every Kid Counts Dinner

The Boys & Girls Club of Hawthorne hosted their 24th Annual Every Kid Counts dinner reception on November 10th, at Macaluso’s.  There were 350 guests in attendance as the Club recognized and awarded some of the Club’s most outstanding youth members, staff, volunteers and most generous Club supporters.  

Member and Volunteer awards received are listed below.

Cadet of the Year Award - Lily Disant & Christopher Scully; Buddie of the Year Award - Khloe Stonehouse & Gianluca Morano; Junior of the Year Award - Michael Galella & Yanibel Gomez; Summer Fun Camp Award - Weston Swallow & Juliana Szwarc; Summer Camp 150 Award - Chris Simmermon, Jr. & Mackenzie Scrivens; Triple Play Award - Isaiah Cruz & Kamila Ramos; After School Fun Club Award - Harrison Kessler-Stein & Hailey Struz; Club 150 Award - Andrey Dadian & Gabriela Sandoval; Club High Mountain Award - Allyson Mason & Gabriel Balevski; Keystone Club Award - Bryan Checo; Torch Club Award - Heather Scott & Mya Organisciak; Torch Club Award (North Haledon Unit) - Taiann Fowlkes & Mackenzie Cavagnaro; J. Mottola Volunteer Service Award - Scott Chamberlin; Life Skills Award - Darius Simpson.

Several Club staff and Board Members were honored with the National Service to Youth Award from Boys & Girls Clubs of America.  The National Service to Youth Award recognizes staff and volunteers who have dedicated years of service to their Club.  Award recipients are recognized every fifth year of service. -- 5 years – Carol Gatto, Kyle Graham, Sara Knepper, Sara Llauri and Aileen McDonald (Board Member) --  10 years – Marlene Simeonoglou, Jamie Gruppo, Joseph Chavez, Paul Gassler  --  15 years – Edgar Moran  --  20 years – John Bertollo.

At the end of the evening, the Club honored the four finalists for the 2017 Boys & Girls Club of Hawthorne’s Youth of the Year.  The Youth of the Year program has been Boys & Girls Clubs of America's premier recognition program, celebrating the extraordinary achievements of Club members.  Each year, one exceptional Club member is selected to be the local Youth of the Year for his or her Boys & Girls Club.  That member will then compete on the regional level, where regional winners will then compete at the nation level.  The National Youth of the Year serves as both, an exemplary ambassador for Boys & Girls Club youth and as a strong voice for all of our nation's young people.  Each finalist will receive a $500 scholarship from the Boys & Girls Club of Hawthorne, with the 2017 Youth of the Year receiving an additional $1,000 scholarship, $1,500 total.

The 2017 Youth of the Year finalists were Brandon Olivo, a Junior at Passaic County Technical Institute, Victoria Jungermann, a Junior at Hawthorne High School, Po-Lun Kung, a Junior at Passaic County Technical Institute and Patrick Moorhouse, a Junior at Hawthorne High School. 

After an interview process conducted a few weeks ago, Patrick Moorhouse was named the Boys & Girls Club of Hawthorne’s 2017 Youth of the Year.  He will be competing for the State Youth of the Year competition in June, 2017 for a chance to receive a $5,000 scholarship and carry the right to compete for the Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s National Youth of the Year.